The Presidency and the Cabinet

Kiribati is a Republic within the Commonwealth. The President (Te Beretitenti) is the Head of State as well as the Head of Government and is elected nationally. Candidates for the position of President are chosen by the elected members of the House of Assembly (Maneaba ni Maungatabu) from a minimum of three and maximum of four nominated members. The Beretitenti is required to notify the Speaker in order to resign or when a matter before the Maneaba raises an issue of confidence.

The President appoints his or her own Cabinet. Cabinet comprises the President, Vice-President, not more than twelve ministers selected from the members of the Maneaba ni Maungatabu and the Attorney-General. The Cabinet exercises executive powers.